Rating only goes down - bug or feature?

jpwigan

Post by jpwigan »

Registered an account today, starting working through the 20k+ problems. My rating never goes up when I solve a problem on the first try (it stays the same). However, it is more than willing to go down when I get one wrong.

Thinking that they might just be too easy to give rating points, I moved up to some 18k problems and (when I finally managed to get one on the first try) it looks like 18k problems have this behaviour as well.

So, is this a design feature? Do us noobs just labor under very large (small?) negative number ratings until we get better at reading? If so, I'm gonna have fun earning back *that* debt :P

{Posted by jpwigan}
Eivuwan

Post by Eivuwan »

I hope this isn't a feature because I don't like it at all. I am an absolute noob and was just messing around on this site. I didn't notice the user rating system until it was -3900-something... But by then I had already bought a pro account so I couldn't start fresh. It's nearly impossible to get the rating up now and very discouraging. I wondered if it was because the problems I was solving were too easy so I did a little experiment. I logged out and found a solution to a 5 dan problem. I logged back in and solved it and my rating went up by just about 100 points. And I tried it again with another 5 dan problem, and the rating didn't go up. I don't know what this is about. Am I suppose to assume that I'll never be able to get my rating up to a decent number now?

Is there a way to request a reset of my ratings?

{Posted by Eivuwan}
admin

Post by admin »

i think the whole rating system is messed up and i'll probably blow it all away eventually when i fix it.

sorry,
adum

{Posted by admin}
gj5

Re: Rating only goes down - bug or feature?

Post by gj5 »