Auto problem selection

Site news and updates.

Re: Auto problem selection

Postby adum on Sun May 27, 2012 8:10 pm

hi field mouse -- my goal is to give more options that help users. first, i'm going to make it soon so you'll get credit for problems you've solved a while ago, but haven't tried recently, so that will help. second, you can always search for problems on the problem search page that fit certain criteria. how would you like to use the site exactly?
User avatar
adum
Site Admin
 
Posts: 375
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 5:09 pm

Re: Auto problem selection

Postby Field Mouse on Mon May 28, 2012 9:11 am

Hello adum,
the way I used to use the site before the changes was:
- go to the main page
- get random problem
- browsing by the "prev" and "next" buttons
Easy and fast, I got a nice random mix of easy (solving easy problems and refreshing basic shapes is nice too) and hard problems of all kinds just with a single click from the main page.

Now I have to:
- go to the main page
- go to the problems
- click search
- get problems, then start solving and browsing

The new system is less comfortable than the old one - I would like if there was a possibility of getting a totally random problem from the main page and then a browse "next" and "prev" buttons like before. The go to problems! button does not work well - it gives me only problems of certain strenght (currently too low and when I get to 6d then getting 5d+ problems only will be a bit boring too). Maybye a checkbox or an user setting that would set the go to problems! button to a mode in which it gives the user totally random problems no matter the difficulty of the user and my goproblems rank would be very nice and would completely satisfy my needs. :-)
Field Mouse
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 1:47 am

Re: Auto problem selection

Postby adum on Mon May 28, 2012 7:18 pm

okay, thanks for the feedback. i'll think about this situation.
User avatar
adum
Site Admin
 
Posts: 375
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 5:09 pm

Re: Auto problem selection

Postby 0n1 on Wed May 30, 2012 12:53 am

BartTM wrote:I am slightly in favor of a longer period, like a month.

(You do plan to use it for selecting problems, i hope?)

How about have a weight on the time passed by for the tried problem
say:
the weight is k = (1-1/n)^2
the new score = old score + k * attempt score

this way all efforts will be counted
0n1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 12:39 pm

Re: Auto problem selection

Postby adum on Fri Jun 01, 2012 10:42 pm

On1 -- i like your idea! thanks
User avatar
adum
Site Admin
 
Posts: 375
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 5:09 pm

Re: Auto problem selection

Postby BartTM on Mon Jun 11, 2012 2:48 am

When solving problems distributed by the Next button (I guess it is called that, as it spells 'Volgende' in Dutch (correctly so)) I got problem 3244 twice in a very short while. (I solved it first time and went here the second time) ...
User avatar
BartTM
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 1:46 pm

Re: Auto problem selection

Postby adum on Mon Jun 11, 2012 11:25 am

that's odd -- it shouldn't repeat. you were logged in, right?
User avatar
adum
Site Admin
 
Posts: 375
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 5:09 pm

Re: Auto problem selection

Postby BartTM on Wed Jun 13, 2012 2:16 am

Right, I was. This happened before, but at first I was not sure whether it was a duplicate problem or so. But this time I went backwards and forwards in my browser history to verify that it really was the same. Only 3 problem attempts apart even.
(and I'm still only 16 kyu. Even though I do not really care about the rating nor put too much effort in solving them correctly first time around, I feel it should have gone up quicker than this. Also it seems stationary and then suddenly skips several grades...)
User avatar
BartTM
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 1:46 pm

Re: Auto problem selection

Postby adum on Wed Jun 13, 2012 1:21 pm

okay. i'll be improving this in the future: every problem you solve will show exactly how your rating changes.
User avatar
adum
Site Admin
 
Posts: 375
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 5:09 pm

Re: Auto problem selection

Postby jamato on Tue Jun 19, 2012 11:56 pm

As momojojo said, "you used to be able to choose the type of problem (life or death, endgame, etc. . .), and the problem level". I was using that all the time and I really liked it - can we get it back ?
jamato
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 11:50 pm

PreviousNext

Return to News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron